« Recent Student Presentations & Published Research | Main | Alumna Debra Joy Pérez named Chief Evaluation and Learning Officer for Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation »

Harvard’s PhD Program in Health Policy Celebrates 25 Years

Harvard’s PhD Program in Health Policy celebrated its 25th Anniversary at an event at the Boston Public Library in June 2016.  During the anniversary celebration, attendees honored Faculty Chair Joe Newhouse and Director of Graduate Studies Kathy Swartz, who both stepped down from their leadership roles in the program this year.  Joe has been with the PhD Program in Health Policy since its inception and both he and Kathy have been critical in the success of the students over the history of the program.  David Cutler, incoming Faculty Chair, emceed the event.  Speakers included Harvard Provost Alan Garber, Melinda Buntin (graduate of PhD Program in 2000 and chair of the Department of Health Policy at Vanderbilt University’s School of Medicine), Joe and Kathy. There were video tributes by many folks including:  current and former students; Harvard Kennedy School Dean Doug Elmendorf; Sherry Glied, Dean of New York University’s Wagner School of Public Policy; Gail Wilensky, senior fellow at Project Hope; David Blumenthal, president of The Commonwealth Fund; and Leonard Schaeffer, Judge Robert Maclay Widney Chair and Professor at the Sol Price School of Public Policy at the University of Southern California. 

In its 25-year history, Harvard’s PhD Program in Health Policy has graduated over 180 students and has grown to include six faculties:  Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Harvard Business School, Harvard Kennedy School, Harvard Law School, Harvard Medical School, and Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend