Faculty Leadership

The PhD Program is administered by the Committee on Higher Degrees in Health Policy (CHD in Health Policy), a  55-member committee drawn from six Harvard faculties: the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Harvard Business School, Harvard Kennedy School, Harvard Law School, Harvard Medical School, and Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. David Cutler is Chair of the CHD in Health Policy, and Meredith Rosenthal is the PhD Program’s Director of Graduate Studies.  

Each of the program’s concentrations has a faculty committee overseeing it, and each concentration committee is chaired or co-chaired by a member of the CHD in Health Policy. The concentration committees are comprised of faculty from the CHD in Health Policy, and approximately 60 additional faculty members.

A hallmark of the PhD Program in Health Policy is the accessibility of faculty members to students and the commitment of faculty to students enrolled in the program.  Over the last several years, many Health Policy faculty members have been awarded mentoring awards from the Harvard GSAS Graduate Student Council: Kathy Swartz (2018), Norman Daniels (2010), Joseph Newhouse (2009), Thomas McGuire (2008), Robert Blendon (2007), Sue Goldie (2006), Stephen Soumerai (2005), and David Cutler (1999). In 2015 Nancy Keating and Alan Zaslavsky each received the A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award from Harvard Medical School. In 2019 Sherri Rose was awarded Harvard Medical School's Young Mentor Award.